Kensington’s “Resilience Project” anniversary…

I was asked by Pathways to Housing …to speak at an event in Kensington. I wasn’t given much information prior to, although knew I’d be sharing my story. It was almost surreal to be where I was today, because only one year prior, I’d once been living under the bridge behind where I was speaking & where I once used drugs, as well. The moral painted under the bridge showed birds taking flight that were once “tethered down” as one artist explained. It certainly expressed a part of my life’s journey extremely well. I was not expecting news cameras and Mayor Kenny to be there. It made me quite nervous, plus, being one of the last to speak also didn’t help. The project helped address the opioid epidemic by clearing encampments under the bridges, provided housing for many of the homeless population, & by helping beautify the area with artwork. It felt so great to be an example of how helping really can make a difference.

Published by Jolene

Welcome to my crazy world. I would love to write a book about my crazy life but have no clue where to start. I'm hoping this may help get me started in the right direction. I hope you enjoy my little life's adventures. I started writing this not long after my discharge from the hospital after getting hit by a moving vehicle as a pedestrian in October 2018 & suffering a Traumatic Brain Injury along with some broken bones. This shows much of my recovery from that and more.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started